Mission center councils are advisory in nature and assist the mission center leaders in the development of the work of the mission center. The composition of the mission center councils is determined by the mission center involved and should be broadly representative of the membership and congregations of the mission center. Members of mission center councils may or may not be members of the priesthood. If mission center council members are appointed and sustained, the appointing officer or entity may change the persons appointed from time to time to meet changing needs.

Mission center councils may give programmatic, leadership, and spiritual advice to the mission center leadership, but these councils are not administrative in nature. If a mission center conference is not feasible, the mission center council may assume the necessary legislative functions of a mission center conference.

The leaders listed below have been sustained to serve on the mission center council for 2017 in relationship with specific congregations.  These leaders meet quarterly with the mission center officers, ministry leaders, and mission center staff to provide feedback and input on mission center activities, mission, and vision.

Expectations for 2017 Mission Center Council Members

▪ Maintain relationships with the members of their congregations by participating in events.
Council members will be expected to visit their congregations at least once each quarter. Visits might occur during classes, worship experiences, retreats, meetings, or other events.

▪ Provide for at least one gathering each year for the members from their congregations.
Council members will be expected to make sure at least one event for their congregations is planned each year. This might be a social event, leadership training, a shared worship, or some other gathering.

▪ Assist pastors of their congregations with developing their personal ministry plans.
Council members will meet personally with the pastors of their congregations to help them each create an annual priesthood ministry plan. 

▪ Attend the mission center council meetings once each quarter.
2017 Council Meeting Dates:
Saturday, January 7 from 9:30 to 4:30 PM @ Coleman Congregation
Saturday, April 1 from 9:30 to 4:30 PM @ Coleman Congregation
Saturday, July 15 from 9:30 to 4:30 PM location TBD
Saturday, September 30 from 9:30 to 4:30 PM location TBD

▪ Provide advice and feedback on core functions of the mission center.
Council members will be expected to share ideas, questions, and concerns that emerge through the visits and conversations they have with congregation members and pastors.


Wendy Brooks

Cheyboygan, Gladstone, Gulliver, Onaway, and Sault Ste. Marie congregations

Ruth Eaton

Boyne City, Gaylord, Grayling, Inland, and Traverse City congregations.

Gary Villeneuve

Alpena, Lachine, Mikado, Tawas City, and Twining congregations.

Roger Elkins

Big Rapids, Cadillac, Harrison, Houghton Lake, Ludington, and Marion congregations.

To Be Determined

Alma, Coleman, Farwell, Greenville, Mt. Pleasant, and Vestaburg congregations.

Sue Leyder

Beaverton, Bentley, Gladwin, Sanford, and West Branch congregations.

Dick Shotwell

Alaska, Grand Valley, Holland, Muskegon, Northview, and Union Avenue congregations.

Mary Jane Miller

Capital, Charlotte, East Lansing, Hastings, Rose Lake, and St. Johns congregations.

Gary Gordier

Bay City, Burt, Clio, Midland, and Saginaw congregations.

Terry Brown

Bay Port, Caro, Crossroads, Owendale, Sandusky, and Shabbona congregations.

Linda Stanbridge

Blue Water, Croswell, Marlette, Sixth Street, and Wadhams Grove congregations.

Carl Nichols

Bristolwood, Eastside, Lake Orion, Lapeer, Otter Lake, and Waterford congregations.

Ellie Heacock

Allegan, Battle Creek, Benton Harbor, Galien, Kalamazoo, and South Bend congregations.

John Jones

Ann Arbor, Brighton, Coldwater, Jackson, and Plymouth congregations.

Bud Teal

Detroit Hope, Highland Park, Richmond, Riverview, and Troy Oaks congregations.